top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeredith

Underwater

It's quiet underwater. In Phnom Penh, I wake up to a rooster that crows the same way Trump tweets: relentlessly, nonsensically, and cockily (great pun). Then comes the construction, music, motos, and tuk-tuks, as well as the softer sounds of girls eating breakfast and laughing before leaving the dorm. On a trip to the pool this week, sticking my head underwater felt like unplugging a vacuum: my mind cleared from the constant noise I've grown used to hearing.


Part of my duties as Leadership Resident is organizing cultural activities for the dorm. A limitless list of pending events includes trips to museums, boat tours, sports activities, and even a good ol' American pancake breakfast. However, the top request is always swimming.


I was swimming before I had enough hair to deserve a swim cap. Being underwater has always been a source of liberation for me. Swimming is thoughtful and thoughtless. As I rode with Harpswell girls to a Phnom Penh swimming instructor, I couldn't wait to be able to share the relief that water brings.


This Harpswell outing was not only some girls' first time in a pool, but also their first time sticking their heads underwater. I took on a role of assuring girls that going underwater won't hurt, and that they won't drown, and that their bodies naturally want to rest on the surface. I'm sure that there were a lot of metaphors for trust floating around (another sick pun).

Swimming lessons made for rapid bonding. Another group of us are heading back next week.


Thanks again for checking in!

310 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page