top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeredith

Grassroots Girl Power: Pilot

I’ve never written a blog post because I’ve never felt I had anything to say. Or if I had something to say, I’ve never felt that I deserved a space to say it. Trying to contribute to meaningful conversation is like taking notes in pen instead of pencil, only you’re paranoid that the kid next to you will make fun of your handwriting, and also you’re uncertain about the material, and also you might be in the wrong class entirely. It's petty terror.

However, that sort of self-censorship goes against my awareness that women need to be heard. Even if it's only asking questions, finding a voice is key to women’s empowerment. First finding a voice, then using it. Then growing it, and growing with it.

So, if forging through self-doubt and writing a blog post counts as women’s empowerment, well, that’s great, and let everyone know that feminism is easy.


Why "Grassroots Girl Power:"


Grassroots refers to the most basic level of an activity or organization. Finding a voice is the first step in grassroots empowerment. This blog is titled "Grassroots Girl Power" because empowerment must come from bottom-up progress. Empowerment is something that must be taken, not given. Lofty rhetoric from the treetops can’t reach the ground without grassroots understanding.


I'm currently taking on the role of Leadership Resident in the Harpswell Foundation dormitory in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The Harpswell Foundation asserts that its mission is to “equip young women in Southeast Asia with leadership skills, education, and a supportive network.” I hope to write about my time with the inspiring Harpswell women and grow my understanding of feminism along with them. Check out Harpswell's website, my "About Me," and upcoming posts for more information about how their work is empowering a new generation of women leaders.

GIF from hercampus.com


Thank you for reading through this pilot post, please check back in soon!



76 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page